Folding time: history, subjectivity, and intimacy in Vonnegut

Research output: Contribution to Book/ReportChapter


Kurt Vonnegut's darkly comic work became a symbol for the counterculture of a generation. From his debut novel, Player Piano (1951) through seminal 1960's novels such as Cat's Cradle (1963) and Slaughterhouse-Five (1969) up to the recent success of A Man Without A Country (2005), Vonnegut's writing has remained commercially popular, offering a satirical yet optimistic outlook on modern life. Though many fellow writers admired Vonnegut - Gore Vidal famously suggesting that "Kurt was never dull" - the academic establishment has tended to retain a degree of scepticism concerning the validity of his work. This dynamic collection aims to re-evaluate Vonnegut's position as an integral part of the American post-war cannon of literature.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationNew Critical Essays on Kurt Vonnegut
Place of PublicationBasingstoke
PublisherPalgrave Macmillan Ltd.
Number of pages256
ISBN (Print)9780230616271
Publication statusPublished - 1 Jan 2009

Publication series

NameAmerican literature readings in the twenty-first century


Dive into the research topics of 'Folding time: history, subjectivity, and intimacy in Vonnegut'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this