Review of Makiko Minow-Pinkney, Virginia Woolf and the Problem of the Subject: Feminine Writing in the Major Novels (Edinburgh: EUP, 2010)

Gerri Kimber

Research output: Contribution to JournalArticle


Book review: This book, first published in 1987 and subsequently republished in 2010, attests to the fact that its contents are still deemed an important contribution to Woolf studies almost 25 years after first publication. Makiko Minow-Pinkney takes five of Virginia Woolf’s nine novels: Jacob’s Room (1922), Mrs Dalloway (1925), To the Lighthouse (1927), Orlando (1928) and The Waves (1931), and analyses them through a feminist, Kristevan psychoanalytical lens
Original languageEnglish
JournalAnnotated Bibliography of English Studies
Publication statusPublished - 1 Apr 2011


Cite this